Crop Plant Forms

1. Monocotyledonous crops: these are   E.g. All cereals & Millets, They usually have narrow and long leaves and they include certain families of grasses: orchids and lilies. Palms e.g. coconut palm, oil palm, raffia palm, and royal palm are the common trees in this group. Maize, guinea corn, millet, rice and wheat are the food crops in this group of plants. Sugar cane is also in this group and it is industrial.

2. Dicotyledonous crops: these are crops that have two cotyledons in the seed. e.g. all legumes & pulses. This group has broad leaves unlike the monocotyledons whose leaves are narrow, and long. Cashew, cotton and cocoa are the industrial crops in this group. Tress like kola, grape fruit, guava tress, paw-paw, mango, silk cotton is also found in this group. Most vegetables like: ewedu, okro, melon, cowpeas, yam and sweet potatoes also belong to this group.

Differences between monocotyledonous and Dicotyledonous plants

They have one cotyledon seedThey have two cotyledon seeds
The leaf has parallel veinsTheir leaf has branching veins
their stem has bundles of vascular tissues scattered throughout the stemTheir stem has bundles of vascular tissues arranged in a ring

Related posts

Leave a Comment